meet the team

this is the team of umpires that make up the executive committee of the association – they are devoted to serving our members, and to making the game we love better

Trent Thomas


Umpiring Experience includes: 2021 Olympics, ABL Umpire and Crew Chief (1996-Present), Former State Director of Umpiring, MLB Opening Series 2014

John Bailey


Player from 1979-2001. Coach from 1992-95. Umpire experience includes: Women’s National 2008. World Master 2009, School Boys 2010, Australian Provincial Championships 2011, AYC 2012, AYC Umpire management 2013-2020, Women’s Nationals Umpire Coordinator 2019-Today. Former NSWBUA President.

Jason Spurway

Vice President

Umpire Experience includes:
State League Umpire since 2014
Rookie of the Year 16/17
State League Umpire of the Year 18/19, 19/20, 20/21
Women’s Nationals 2018, 2019
Gold Medal Plate Women’s Youth 2018
Youth Nationals 2020

Keith Layman


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consec tetut elit tellus, luctus nec ullam corper mattis, pulvinar.

I made a game effort to argue but two things were against me; the umpires and the rules

Leo Durocher

Manager and member of the Hall of Fame

David Brodie

Assistant Secretary

NSWBUA Rookie of the year 20/21

Senior League Nationals 2021- Plate Umpire for Bronze Medal game, 3rd base umpire Gold Medal game.

Paul Jones

Committee Member

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consec tetut elit tellus, luctus nec ullam corper mattis, pulvinar.

Matt Wagner

Little League Umpire In Chief

First Community Course 1999, Level 1 Association Course Narabeen 2004,
Umpired World Masters 2009, National U14 2014, LL, Jl and SL Nationals 2015-present, State LL UIC, LL Umpire School Williamsport 2016, SL WS Easley SC 2017, WR LL Umpire School 2019, ABF LL Umpire Instructor 2019

Jerry Cobb

Committee Member

Umpire Experience: State League Umpire since 2015 and Umpired the Australian Junior Nationals in 2019 & 2020 (U16, U18).

Matt Carter

State Director of Umpiring

Umpiring experience includes: 1st game 10/2/96. ASC Elite Officiating Scholarship 2005. Jim Evans Umpire School 2005, Claxton Shield 2007-2010, ABF Instructor 2005-Today, ABL 2010. AJLC Coordinator 2017-19. SDU from 2018-Present.
Former Asst. Secretary, Former Secretary, Former Vice President.

Scroll to Top